Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh
President of National University of Ireland, Galway

Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh became the 13th president of NUI Galway in January 2018. Previously, he was Professor of Accounting and Dean of Business at UCD, leading its schools in Dublin (UCD Lochlann Quinn School of Business, UCD Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School and UCD Smurfit Executive Development) and its overseas programmes in Hong Kong, Singapore and Sri Lanka.

Having attended Scoil Iognáid and Coláiste Iognáid, Ciarán is a first class honours, first in class graduate of NUI Galway. He trained as a Chartered Accountant with Arthur Andersen and has a PhD in Accounting from the University of Leeds. He has been published widely in the accounting field and has previously held academic positions at Dublin City University, UCD and Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand.

A former Fulbright scholar at Northeastern University (Boston, USA), he has served as Audit Committee Chair at the Department of Marine, Communications and Natural Resources and as a member of the Audit Committee at the Department of Finance.

Minister Seán Canney TD,
Minister for Community Development, Natural Resources, and Digital Development.

Seán Canney comes from a small family farm in North County Galway on the West coast of Ireland. Prior to entering politics he spent 25 years in the private sector. Mr Canney is a Chartered Quantity Surveyor by profession and lectured at GMIT on Construction Law and Quantity Surveying prior to his election to Dáil Eireann.

Seán Canney TD was appointed Minister of State for Community Development, Natural Resources and Digital Development on 16 October 2018.
He was elected to Dáil Éireann as an Independent TD for Galway East in 2016 and had served as Minister of State for OPW and Flood Relief from May 2016 until June 2017 before his latest appointment.
Seán served as Assistant Government Chief Whip from 2017 – 2018.
He was a member of the Council of Europe.
Seán also sat on the Joint Oireachtas Committee for Rural and Community Development, and the Joint Oireachtas Committee for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht.

He was first elected to Galway County Council in 2004 and re-elected in 2009 and 2014. He served as Mayor of County Galway in 2007-2008.